School Board Recognition Month


May 2022

Algona Community School District Recognizes Leaders During School Board Recognition Month

The Iowa Association of School Boards has designated May as School Board Recognition Month, this year recognizing their work in ‘Launching Iowa’s Next Generation.’ As citizen leaders, Algona Community School District board members face complex and demanding challenges. Yet few people fully understand the scope and far-reaching implications of board members’ responsibilities. All Iowa citizens should recognize the vital contributions of these elected officials and focus attention on the crucial role they play in the education of our children.

School board members come from all walks of life. Serving on the Algona Community School District board are a doctor, retired school administrator, business owner, educator and others. Although they wear many hats in the workday world, school board members put on a collective hat when they get down to the business and innovation of charting the course for their school district. Board members must pull together as a team toward a universal goal—helping students achieve their potential.

The seven members of the Algona Community School District board establish a vision for the education program, design a structure to achieve that vision, ensure schools are accountable to the community, strongly advocate continuous improvement in student learning, and create a positive atmosphere for the entire district. To accomplish these goals, board members contribute thousands of hours each year leading their districts. Whether it be crafting policies, listening to staff and student concerns, or advocating with legislators, board members always keep their eyes on the goal of student achievement. The time spent in board meetings represents just a small fraction of the hours school board members spend leading in their districts. They attend seminars and training sessions to keep current on the latest trends in educational leadership; are deeply involved in community and school activities; and they create, read and study countless reports, agendas, proposals and other information to guide difficult decisions. Their love for learning and their commitment to the students, staff and community served by the Algona Community School District drives board members’ desire to help students take flight.

Join your community in saying ‘thank you’ to Gloria Bartelt, Rodney Davis, Jay Limbaugh, Todd Louwagie, Tom Nugent, Brent Owen and Andrea Vinci,  for launching Iowa’s next generation and recognizing their efforts throughout the year.